On Pride.

Hi, my name is Kelsey. I’m a writer, blogger, pescatarian, Catholic, Canadian, dog owner and bisexual.

I realised the other day that it’s LGBT pride month in June. I also realised that I’ve never written anything on here about my sexuality.

Honestly, being bisexual isn’t a huge part of my life. It’s not because I’m ashamed of it. It’s just something I am. Unlike being Christian, I don’t have to work at being bisexual. I wake up in the morning and it is.

I never got the “pride” movement until recently. I had no strong feelings either way. It existed. The parades were fun to watch.

Then, the first time I talked to someone involved in the LGBT community, they told me bisexuals weren’t welcome.

Then, the Christians in the Christian club at school gave me dirty looks.

Then, I stopped going into changerooms to avoid the glares.

Then, I had to explain to someone why there is no such thing as a straight pride parade.

The first time I wrote a love poem about a girl I was afraid to show it to anyone and pretended it was about a boy.

I realised something.

Pride movements and pride parades exist because the world decided that LGBT people weren’t allowed to be proud of who they were. The reason I listed all those things I am to begin this post is because, for the most part, the world tells me that even though my sexuality is a small part of my life I am not allowed to be proud of everything else I am because of it. There are people in the world who would ignore everything else and kill me for being bisexual. That’s why this is a big deal.

So here’s an answer for the straight girl who asked me why there isn’t a straight pride parade. Straight people are allowed to be proud. They are told every day that the way they are is the right way. LGBT people are told every day that they are freaks, or sinners, or abominations. That they should die. The suicide rate of LGBT people is significantly higher than that of straight people. We have to tell ourselves to be proud because no one else will. No one else does.

Parades and pride months are our reminders to the world that no one will ever take our pride from us.

 

God bless,

Kelsey J.

 

PS: Sorry this is a day late! I was called in unexpectedly to my job. Not that I don’t consider this a job, but the other one pays me. 

 

PSS: Did you know an LGBT publishing group was the on of the first to publish my work? Check them out here: http://newtownwriters.org/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

