Writer’s block: Let it come.

Ladies and gentlemen, I had been working on a spectacular post about Magneto for this Friday. I had been working on this post for about two weeks. I had a burst of creativity early this morning, and I thought I’d have it up today.

Then, it just stopped.

I was angry. I was upset. I couldn’t believe that my creative energy had just left as quickly as it came.

Then, I let it go.

Like a Disney song.

***

As a writer, you see many posts about how to beat writer’s block or how to deal with it. I never thought I’d be writing one of these things. I thought, in my vast pretentiousness, that I was better than that.

The problem is that there is no one way to deal with writer’s block, and anyone who tells you otherwise is wrong. This post is about how I deal with it. Take that at your discretion.

I dealt with it by letting it go. If the creative juices stop, that means that I’m not really ready to write at that point. Maybe I have something else going on it my mind that needs my attention. Maybe I’m hungry. Maybe I can’t say what I need to say.

There’s no magic secret, no super technique. I just trust in my mind and my heart.

Though, in retrospect, I probably picked that attitude up from years and years of Disney.

 

God bless,

Kelsey J.

 

Zombvenger!, the zombie superhero extravaganza, is live at Zombiepop: http://www.zombiepop.net/zombvenger-1/

Of course, if you want the backstage pass, check out the official site (http://dawnoftheundead.wordpress.com/) and the official tumblr (http://undeadinblue.tumblr.com/)

If you want to gaze upon my beauty, check out my beauty blog: (http://artdecoprincess.wordpress.com/)

Leave a Reply

