Poetry Saturday: Trickster Hymn

I just wanted to stick my fingers in the wounds

And twist.

Mend it, mend it.

At least I’m not the one who needs the last laugh.

I’m the one you took from,

Righteous be your name.

I just wanted to be what you wanted

But you don’t know what that is.

 

I took the rain and I laid it out like gold

But they spat at me and pulled my ears

You never told me where the boundaries weren’t

Evil was never my strong suit

But it’s what you wanted

 

I only told you that I healed the wounds

So I could steal the blood

And make it into earth.

Leave a Reply

