Spiderman Review

*Author’s note: This is a reblog from my writing blog, http://kelseyjaymills.weebly.com. I’m thinking of doing reviews again on this blog, and this reviews response will determine that for me

 

So, I was super super excited to see this movie. Like, wearing the t-shirt, web makeup and painted nails. I enjoyed the first two Spiderman movies (for the purpose of this review, I am going to pretend that the third one was just a really bad dream), but I was hoping that since they were re-booting the franchise, they would be going in a different direction.

Oh, how wrong I was.

I’ll start with the things I didn’t like- the spoiler free things.

As with most first movies in a superhero franchise (Christopher Nolan’s Batman and the first Spiderman excluded), this movie was heavily on the boring side. This is forgivable- after all, they have to get the origin out of the way for the non-nerds to get into the fun stuff. But because the first Spiderman did the origin in an engaging way, I expected this one to follow suit.

This Spiderman’s biggest problem seemed to be that it borrowed from the first movies where it should not have, and didn’t borrow where it should have (like the aforementioned origin story). For example (and I don’t think this is much of a spoiler) The Lizard hears voices after he takes the serum. Hmmm….where have we seen this before? Hey Lizard, Green Goblin called and he wants his shtick back. And the voices thing was way better when Gobby did it.

Honestly, I think Toby Macguire made a better Spiderman. Andrew Garfield’s performance didn’t ring true to the character of Peter Parker. He played him more as an awkward emo kid (ala Spiderman 3) than as a nerd. Peter Parker is a nerd. He doesn’t become emo till the One More Day storyline in the comics. At least there were no jazz hands.

AND STOP REVEALING YOUR  IDENTITY TO EVERYONE. GAWD.

There were also a lot of hanging threads, which I will assume they will fix up in the sequels, but the whole “Peter Parker’s parents” thing was NOT resolved and that pissed me right off. It was made out in the trailers to be a big part of the plot, but it seemed to just be setting up Peter’s emo-ness. And then suddenly he stops looking for the guy who killed Uncle Ben. Nice prioirities there, Peter. Your girlfriend over your uncle’s killer.

And where the hell was J. Jonah Jameson?

Now that I’ve ripped on it, what do I like?

I like Gwen Stacy WAY more than Mary Jane Watson. Gwen is a science student, and she doesn’t just sit around and wait to be captured or nag at Peter. She makes things happen instead of screaming and sitting around like a useless log.

I liked the action sequences and web swinging sequences. It’s worth the money alone for those. I’m not sure if I recommend the 3-D over the 2-D. I think either one will give you the feel. I liked that they didn’t spend a crazy amount of time on the bite and the costume. I liked that Peter had web-slingers that he made himself, rather than the organic ones in the first movies. I liked that Peter couldn’t control his strength at first- it made the character more human and it made sense. Unlike Superman, Peter didn’t have his powers from childhood, so of course when he suddenly had super strength, he didn’t know what to do with it.

I was a big fan of the design of the Lizard. That would have been so easy to screw up, but the CGI and over-all design was spot on. They also kept him pretty true to the comics in his modes operandi.

I also liked the way Norman Osbourn was a tangible character without ever being seen. As usual in the Spiderman universe, everything is his fault. I hope that he makes a physical appearance in the next movie.

I  found it amusing that the actor who played George Foyet (Agent Hotchner’s arch nemesis) on Criminal Minds is in this movie.

I think that this movie is setting up for a kick-ass sequel. That’s the vibe I got from it. Will the next Spiderman 2 be as good as the original Spiderman 2? Only time will tell.

The director’s name is Mark Webb. And yes, I was more amused than that than I should have been.

All in all, it was a decent flick. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would, but I still liked it. Many other fans enjoyed it, so hopefully you will too. I would recommend it, if only for the action scenes

Leave a Reply

